Patient Reviews

Patient Reviews

If you are seeking a trusted dentist who listens to your concerns and is committed to protecting your oral health, look no further! Our profoundly experienced team at Life Dental & Orthodontics is excited to offer individuals in and around Walnut Creek, CA a range of dental services, from general and cosmetic dentistry to orthodontics. Throughout the years, our office has had the pleasure of receiving a number of endorsements from men and women of all ages who have witnessed our thoughtful care. We invite you to browse over our extensive selection of testimonials to read for yourself how compassionate care and steadfast commitment to dental health brought a smile to each of our patient's faces.

Reviews for Life Dental & Orthodontics

5.0 Review from L.B. Source: Google Feb 09 2024

"Life Dental has an excellent Dental staff! Everyone is friendly & accommodating. Please consider Life Dental & Orthodontist for your next visit."

5.0 Review from J.R. Source: Google Feb 16 2024

"Absolutely love this place! Friendly and accommodating staff and I really appreciate Dr Hockel’s knowledge of what’s going on with not only my teeth, but how it all works together with my airway and everything else too!"

5.0 Review from D.C. Source: Google Oct 20 2023

"I came to Doctor Hockel due to problems with sleep apnea. He diagnosed a narrow palate and some other issues that ultimately are obstructing my airway and recommended a course of palate expansion (upper and lower) before going for more extensive surgery to correct problems with my jaw. It's been really great working with him and his staff! They're all extremely knowledgeable and very helpful. They've answered every question I had and taken the time to explain what's being done each time (in what's going to be a couple-year-long process.) They're definitely using the latest tools and techniques and I feel completely comfortable with whatever they recommend. All in all, a *really* great dentist! [Edit from 2+ years in the future - 10/18/2023] I had my jaw surgery (total TMJ replacement and MMA (Maxillomandibular advancement, to move the upper teeth forward) in St Louis in May (via the only surgeon Dr Hockel trusts to do the surgery, who really is great) and returned to Dr Hockel's care in late June. Sleep apnea is cured, my bite was lined up and everything went well. Today was a great day - I got my braces off! We're now in the process of stabilizing the teeth with a retainer, but they look great and feel even better, with everything in my bite closing in the right places and all the teeth nice and straight and even. Dr Hockel's staff were awesome as usual - I showed up 20 minutes early and they said "come right in!" and we got to work. If you ever need to deal with airway issues (or indeed with orthodontia and other dental procedures), definitely give Life Dental and Orthodontics a call. They're the best!"

5.0 Review from D.M. Source: Google Jan 24 2024

"A bit challenging to say "loved it" for a visit to the dentist, but we have been clients of Dr. Brian Hockel and his father before him for close to thirty years. We have been very pleased with the dental service, the staff and the facilities. Dr. Brian is very skilled and goes out of his way to provide holistic, thorough and caring treatment. He's a fine dentist (and a good musician and magician, as well). His staff is excellent. They are very well trained , friendly and empathetic."

5.0 Review from T.Z. Source: Google Dec 21 2023

"Very friendly and knowledgeable."

5.0 Review from A.T. Source: Google Dec 18 2023

"I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart for being so kind. You have taken excellent care of me during every visit. Dr. Hockel, Dr. Chin and my Hygienist always do amazing job! Very professional and care for patient. It is truly a pleasure being under your care! The office is beautiful, clean, organized, and comfortable, which make coming here more enjoyable whenever I come in for an appointment. I am highly recommend for everyone. Again, thank you so much for all your services Dr. Hockel! You are Best@"

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google Dec 08 2023

"Sam was personable, professional, and answered all of my questions! ♥️"

5.0 Review from G.R. Source: Google Nov 17 2023

"Very professional staff and experts at what they do."

5.0 Review from B.S. Source: Google Oct 27 2023

"As I share the details of my own experience at this fabulous dental office, I would like to say that they are very detailed"

5.0 Review from N.G. Source: Yelp Oct 12 2023

"I’ve been a patient of Life Dental since around 1976, first as a patient of Dr. Jack Hockel, then Dr. Jack and his son, Dr. Brian Hockel, and now Dr. Ching, an associate dentist with Dr. Brian under the new business name,  Life Dental and Orthodontics.  My experience with what I call the Hockel team has been nothing but exceptional.  The quality of their work is outstanding - all services from reception, to dental hygiene (shoutout for Rachel!), to restorative care...I’ve had it all. I recently had a filling redone by Dr. Ching, my first  visit with her, and she was wonderful - very gentle, checked in periodically to make sure I was doing ok, and shared some parts of the procedure she was doing along the way. I felt like an artist was performing the work and, indeed, when given a mirror, the result was amazing. The spot was on a front tooth and it looked like I had a new tooth. I can’t recommend this practice more highly.  One visit and you feel like the most important patient in the practice."

5.0 Review from R.H. Source: Google Oct 11 2023

"Everyone is nice and friendly. Came in for cleaning and had no problems. Very gentle on gums and teeth. Left feeling great! Thank you!"

5.0 Review from D.M. Source: Google Oct 11 2023

"Always an amazing experience, very friendly and accommodating."

5.0 Review from I.F. Source: Yelp Sep 28 2023

"I was incredibly impressed by Dr. Hockel and his team. Not only is this a very well run outfit, but the approach he takes is very holistic and he takes into consideration things like air way and sleep quality! Unfortunately this kind of broad thinking isn’t widely available in conventional orthodontics/dentistry, which makes this business a rare find!"

5.0 Review from M.N. Source: Google Sep 25 2023

"What a team! I drove 6 hours round trip, past many dentists/orthodontists to have Dr. Hockel evaluate my airway and discuss options. I am a dentist. I care and appreciate that he also cares."

5.0 Review from D.D. Source: Google Sep 25 2023

"Excellent, friendly service."

5.0 Review from R.M. Source: Yelp Sep 25 2023

"We chose this dentist for our children 50 years ago, because he and his father were well known as a leaders in Orthodontics. He has served our children and us, and then our grandchildren for over four decades, and we can vouch for the results as consistently excellent. He has all of the most current equipment in his office, and his office has the capability to make its own dental devices up to, and including beautiful work with porcelain and complicated devices in gold right there in his facility."

5.0 Review from J.W. Source: Google Aug 25 2023

"Staff was very courteous & efficient. Rachel did an amazing job cleaning my teeth."

5.0 Review from M.F. Source: Google Aug 25 2023

"Always friendly and efficient. Quality work and no pain. What more can you ask for?"

5.0 Review from D.H. Source: Google Jul 25 2023

"Very friendly, professional, and informative."

5.0 Review from K.M. Source: Yelp Jul 25 2023

"My 10 year old son with Down Syndrome has been seen by Dr Hockel and his team for about 5 years now and they are so good with him. He allows them to do almost everything they need to do because they have gained his trust. We are now undergoing orthodontic treatments and while it’s been bumpy here and there, Hockel & his team are not only patient with him but also are good at giving him encouragement so they can finish whatever application my son needs. Staff is friendly, helpful, accommodating us as much as possible; If you’re considering a new dentist, definitely pay them a visit."

5.0 Review from K.S. Source: Google Jun 25 2023

"Excellent dentist, staff and facility. If you are looking for a supportive, knowledgeable and caring dentist and amazing team look no further. Been going here for 27 years now and highly recommend Dr. Hockel and his team. Have had 3 kids...braces, emergencies...this group of dental health care providers have been here for all of us. 5 stars!"

5.0 Review from B.B. Source: Google May 25 2023

"I found this dental office online I called them to see if they could make a partial denture for my upper teeth in and emergency situation because I've lost mine. They not only got me in the same day but took the imprints and had my partials being made should be back within a week where it would of taken at least 90 days somewhere else I was so happy I would recommend this this dentist office to anybody absolutely outstanding!!"

5.0 Review from A.L. Source: Yelp May 18 2023

"Wonderful staff and dentists!! They were courteous and understanding of my situation and helped me out quickly!"

5.0 Review from N.N. Source: Yelp May 18 2023

"My 5-year-old son has been with Dr. Hockel and his team for almost a year now. It’s quite a drive to see them, but they take such a good care of my son. They are so good with young kids. My son has trouble of following instructions but he is now so confident lying down on the chair waiting for his adjustment. We, the parents just wait until he finishes at the reception. It blows my mind!They also do such a great job of supporting us - the parents. They know great tips to prevent kids from damaging the Crozat.It is a blessing to have him on this journey! We are very grateful for Dr. Hockel and the hygienists’ team."

5.0 Review from B.H. Source: Yelp May 11 2023

"They are thorough and kind. The setting is like a visit with family and all the staff make you feel like a friend. The handicap access and the comfortable waiting room add lots. It’s more than a trip for dental care. They care."

5.0 Review from M.Y. Source: Yelp Apr 24 2023

"Amazing friendly environment instead of feeling inside of an office, staff is really nice, had braces done took 2.5 years and I’m very pleased with the result."

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Yelp Mar 28 2023

"Dr. Ching, Dr. Hockel, Rachel, and the others who have helped me for the past few years at Life Dental have always been prompt, attentive, professional, thorough, and pleasant. My sisters saw Dr. Jack Hockel for braces in the 90’s. I first saw Dr. Brian Hockel and Dr. Michaela Ching in 2019 when I needed a root canal. Dr Hockel replied promptly to my after hours online inquiry about pain that had flared up and Dr. Ching got me what I needed after that. I recommend them gladly and without hesitation."

5.0 Review from M.B. Source: Yelp Jan 25 2023

"Cant say enough about the folks at Life Dental.  So professional and caring. I have high anxiety about going to the dentist and they are the only ones who have been able to help, and have been able to have me back for return visits!  Dental hygienist Kaylene is my hero, love love her"

5.0 Review from E.C. Source: Yelp Nov 23 2022

"1000% recommend. Dr. Hockel is amazing and very detail oriented. I love that his practice is focused on the airway as a priority."

5.0 Review from G.B. Source: Yelp Nov 09 2022

"Over thirty years Dr. Hockel and his talented staff have taken care of our family orthodontic and dentistry needs.  Now a third generation (our grandchildren) are in the chair for orthodontics. Dr. Hockel and his team for decades have exceeded all our dentistry and ortho expectations."

5.0 Review from P.B. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Highly recommend!"

5.0 Review from M.O. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"My son is a few weeks into his ortho treatment. Happy so far. Great staff."

5.0 Review from B.B. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr. Hockel and his staff are very knowledgeable and professional. His caring and honest approach to dental care is refreshing and comforting. We were grateful for his in depth explanation as he educated us about my treatment options. Our questions were encouraged and answered promoting our understanding. I look forward to working with Dr. Hockey’s office for my treatment."

5.0 Review from A.L. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Rachel is great! Personable, knowledgeable, calm, professional yet relatable demeanor. Quick and easy, just how I like it!"

5.0 Review from M.A. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"From the moment I got to the office, everyone was very friendly and professional. As it was my first time there I was given a brief story about the office.During my consultation everything was explained to me and I was never rushed. Dr. Hockel answered and asked the right questions. I knew right away I found a new dentist!"

5.0 Review from C.K. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Professional and personal! Between our children we’ve been traveling over 2 hours to Dr. Hockel’s since 2012. Their office is committed to the best oral/dental/airway function of their patients—it’s not just about straightening teeth. We are always greeted as welcomed guests, not just patients. The doctors and RDAs give specific updates on the changes happening with our children and make outside referrals when necessary. We are so thankful for the expertise and philosophy of this office."

5.0 Review from V.H. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"We love Dr Hockel and Life Dental. Grateful for the team and expertise"

5.0 Review from K.L. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"We started a negotiating process to develop a treatment plan for a cosmetic issue. I’m glad there are options with no need to rush. Life Dental respects your need works with you on acceptable solutions."

5.0 Review from R. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Went in for a hygiene appointment and x rays. Everyone in the office was professional and nice! I appreciated how my hygienist Rachel continuously checked in with me while I got my teeth cleaned. It had been years since my last cleaning and I was nervous about it, but she really made me feel at ease. Thanks, Dr. Hockel's office!"

5.0 Review from J.G. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"The place is immaculate the people are a pleasure to deal with and all seem very knowledgeable I can’t say enough good things about it and I’m thrilled that I finally discovered this place"

5.0 Review from K.M. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Very friendly office. My son is 8 with Down Syndrome and he has always had a positive experience with all the hygienists he has had over the years. I took videos of his experiences so that each time we go he can see that this is a friendly doctor visit. Hasn’t failed yet!"

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Such service! I needed to have my front teeth altered to enhance my appearance for a documentary I will be filmed in next week. Dr. Hockel's staff worked me in immediately and I look ten years younger. Thanks Team Hockel!"

5.0 Review from A.B. Source: Yelp Sep 19 2022

"Dr.Hockel and his team were amazing today at our first visit. He really took his time and was so thorough with his exam and explaining what was going on with my daughter and what the options are. He is so knowledgeable and careful with his approach. Wish I found this office sooner!!"

5.0 Review from J.L. Source: Yelp Jul 26 2022

"Came in for a consultation this morning.   Incredible service and very professional.  Dr. Hockel and his staff go above and beyond for their patients.  Highly recommend!"

5.0 Review from D.B. Source: Yelp Jul 22 2022

"Absolutely recommend these amazing people that make this business flourish! I was in need of an emergency wire cutting for my braces because it was poking the inside of my mouth. I came across Life Dental & Orthodontics by a simple Google search and completely satisfied I did! Extremely helpful, proactive, friendly, and knowledgeable staff made this a pleasant experience! I’m looking for a new Dentist and Orthopedic specialist and now I have found what I was looking for! A special thank you for the team here,Danny B"

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Yelp Nov 06 2021

"Dr. Brian Hockel and his father Dr. Jack Hockel have both been lifesavers for me.  I first became acquainted with this practice over 25 years ago.  At the time I was a teenager who had recently completed my second phase of braces with another orthodontist.  Even though my smile looked wonderful, the orthodontic treatment I received elsewhere left me with an unfortunate TMJ issue with constant popping and headaches.  I recall visiting about half a dozen TMJ specialists, a medical doctor and a chiropractor.  I had been given different devices, exercises and therapies to try to alleviate my TMJ, yet nothing worked and none of the specialists I had seen could seem to figure out how to resolve my TMJ issue.  I remember feeling hopeless and frustrated.  One of the specialists I saw referred me to Dr. Jack Hockel.  I still remember so clearly that within minutes of visiting with Dr. Hockel, he knew exactly what was causing my TMJ and how to fix it!  He gave me a device that adjusted my bite slightly over the course of about 9 months and this completely resolved my TMJ! Fast forward to the present.  Some of my teeth shifted over the past 10 years so I decided to undergo new orthodontic treatment to move them back into place.  Since I had moved out of the area, I found a local orthodontist to handle my treatment.  The new ortho treatment moved my teeth back into a position that again resulted in the same TMJ issue from 25 years ago!  I felt like I was reliving a bad nightmare.  I figured Dr. Jack Hockel had retired but thought maybe someone had taken over his practice.  To my nice surprise, I found that his son, Dr. Brian Hockel had taken over!  Like his father, Dr. Brian Hockel, immediately knew what was causing my TMJ and how to fix it.  I am so thankful for him.  I highly recommend him and his team of professionals.  I feel like his approach to orthodontics is much more wholistic in the sense that he takes into account not only the aesthetic aspect of orthodontics but also considers bite, airway and well-being of the individual.  He is genuine and I could tell he really cares about me as a patient. I highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from J.Z. Source: Google Oct 25 2021

"Very friendly and professional. Dr. listened carefully, and explained things well. Would recommend."

5.0 Review from B.C. Source: Google Oct 25 2021

"Very professional and honestly care about Their patients…. Very modern office and was a great wxperience"

5.0 Review from O.O. Source: Google Oct 25 2021

"I wish I was aware of this doctor when my kids were young. If your child is younger than 12, take him/her for a consultation."

5.0 Review from P.H. Source: Google Oct 25 2021

"Excellent visit as usual. Dr. Hockel and his whole staff communicate well, work together well, and I have always received top notch care, both in terms of personal treatment and care, and high quality dental professionalism. They hit it out of the park in a regular basis!"

5.0 Review from E. Source: Google Oct 25 2021

"Dr. Hockel, and his staff, are amazing! Every visit is a pleasant experience. I was going through an orthodontic nightmare, and he got me back on track. I can not thank this practice enough!"

5.0 Review from M.A. Source: Google Oct 25 2021

"Great care and great people!"

5.0 Review from C.H. Source: Google Oct 25 2021

"Very well done"

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Oct 25 2021

"Another great experience...the best."

5.0 Review from D.D. Source: Google Oct 25 2020

"As another dental professional, I can only say wonderful things about Dr Hockel and his staff. I know what is excellent dental treatmen and what is not. Dr Hockel strives to for excellence and his staff is caring, honest and professional. I know when a dentist stays abreast of everything happening in dentistry. I knew when I first meet Dr Hockel that his patients were is great hands and if I performed work on his patients they would receive the best dental care possible after my treatment. I am a dentist that specializes in root canals. His expertise and care is incredible. Dr Hockel's staff treats their patients with care and respect. I feel part of his family. I grew up on a small farm in the midwest without fluoride and good dental care. Due to this I have had my share of dental problems. Yes, as dentist we can have dental issues. Dr Hockel has been able to help me with these issues and I am say I am proud of my smile. Dr Hockel's brother runs the dental lab and has made most of my crowns. His diligence towards perfection is wonderful. Thank you to Dr Hockel, his staff and his brother."

5.0 Review from K.W. Source: Google Oct 25 2020

"I am so glad I found Brian Hockel and his staff. Dr. Hockel is treating me and both of my kids for both routine dental and orthodontics. My fearful child who was terrified of the dentist before we came here, now actually LIKES going to the dentist! I'm repeatedly impressed with the level of professionalism and knowledge the entire staff displays. I'm also at ease knowing Dr. Hockel takes a fairly holistic approach with concern for the overall function of the jaw and airway. Orthodontia is so much more than just making a pretty smile with straight teeth. I know I'm always in good hands here and I highly recommend them to anyone looking for a great dentist or orthodontist."

5.0 Review from N.G. Source: Google Oct 25 2020

"Consistent, personalized dental care."

5.0 Review from W.G. Source: Google Oct 25 2019

"This is a very high quality dental practice. Excellent professional staff, latest equipment and procedures, and very capable support staff. Great choice for the whole family!"

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google Oct 25 2019

"Absolutely a most enjoyable experience!! We had our first consultation with Dr.Hockel who spoke with my husband and I, daughter and husband and two granddaughters about the process that would be needed for their orthodontics. He came highly recommended and I can see why. His mannerism made the girls very comfortable as well as us knowing we are in good hands. His staff were so professional and welcoming from beginnng to end and made us all feel at home. I know we haven’t actually started treatment yet but already know we came to the right place and wouldn’t hesitate to refer him!👍🏻👍🏻 Colette Stewart Castro Valley"

5.0 Review from P.H. Source: Google Oct 25 2019

"This office and care are par excellence!"

5.0 Review from A.M. Source: Google Oct 25 2019

"I've been a patient here for 30 years! Can't recommend them highly enough. Complete confidence in Dr. Hockel as my daughter starts her orthodontics journey."

5.0 Review from A.T. Source: Google Oct 25 2019

"Great Dentist, great service"

5.0 Review from G.S. Source: Google Oct 25 2019

"All staff members are extremely professional, yet very personable. We are very satisfied with the care we receive."

5.0 Review from S.W. Source: Google Oct 25 2019

"Life Dental has been one of my most positive experiences for my daughter and her very challenging case. I am so grateful for the time, advice, referrals, and treatment my daughter was given by Life Dental. I am not exaggerating when I say Dr. Brian Hockel changed her life. I highly recommend this practice. You won't be sorry!"

5.0 Review from M.B. Source: Google Oct 25 2019

"My nine year old daughter and I had a very good experience at Life Dental and Orthodontics. Everyone was welcoming and friendly and fairly punctual. Our orthodontic options were clearly explained to us, and the emphasis was on overall health as much as aesthetics, which I very much appreciate. Also, I did not feel like I was being "up-selled" in any way. I am looking forward to working with this practice for my daughters orthodontic needs."

5.0 Review from L.T. Source: Google Oct 25 2019

"Professional, friendly, feels like you're in very good hands. I have to drive for 45 minutes for cleanings but it's worth it."

5.0 Review from N.K. Source: Google Oct 25 2019

"Doctor Hockel and his team are amazing!! I’m very happy we found a dentist the whole family loves. They are professional, caring and spend time answering questions without making you feel rushed. Highly recommend!"

5.0 Review from G.P. Source: Yelp Oct 23 2019

"I had a wonderful experience at Life Dental. They gave me a free consultation and welcome package, and I loved sitting on their porch while I waited to get called in. The staff is warm and welcoming and the office is super clean and professional. I even had a mixup with my insurance and the office manager went above and beyond to help me figure everything out. She was understanding and really helpful, which is hard to find in a dentist. Sometimes you feel like the dentist just doesn’t care about you and wants your money, but here I did not feel that at all, I truly felt special and cared for. I am speaking in the past tense, only because I switched jobs/insurances so am not covered there anymore, but if I was covered there still I would definitely still be driving 1.5 hours to go see them! Amazing dentist and would 100% recommend to anyone in the Bay Area."

5.0 Review from R.A. Source: Yelp Jun 11 2019

"Love. My family has been coming here and this is the only dentist I will go to. Quality."

5.0 Review from L.B. Source: Facebook May 07 2019

"We drive 2-hours to see Dr. Hockel and he is worth it! I was so happy with the way my daughter's appointment went today. Dr. Hockel is simply THE BEST. From the moment we walked in everyone was so happy and welcoming. My 4-year old was getting a special pallet expander for her teeny tiny mouth and Dr. Hockel was so very patient even performing the procedure on her doll (not skipping a step) she couldn't wait until it was her turn. He explained every step and talked to her, the patient, rather than having to have me be a translator. She loves Dr. Hockel and the entire staff is amazing!"

5.0 Review from L.B. Source: Yelp May 06 2019

"We drive 2-hours to see Dr. Hockel and he is worth it! I was so happy with the way my daughter’s appointment went today. Dr. Hockel is simply THE BEST. From the moment we walked in everyone was so happy and welcoming.  My 4-year old was getting a special pallet expander for her teeny tiny mouth and Dr. Hockel was so very patient even performing the procedure on her doll (not skipping a step) she couldn’t wait until it was her turn. He explained every step and talked to her, the patient, rather than having to have me be a translator. She loves Dr. Hockel and the entire staff. Thank you for making this a fun experience for her!"

5.0 Review from P.S. Source: Google Oct 25 2018

"Everyone on the staff is very caring while being very professional. The cleaning is thorough yet gentle."

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Oct 25 2018

"Best dentistry I have ever been to (after my dad's)! The dynamic of the practice is genuine, attentive and professional. I have been coming here for 3 years + and have never had a bad experience. Dr. Hockel is an artist at his craft and takes his time to make sure that his patients feel good once arriving and after leaving his practice. The front desk administrators are amazing, responsive and always polite. The hygienists and the dental assistants are extremely knowledgable, talented and dedicated as well. Take the trip if needed, this place is worth the drive."

5.0 Review from M.G. Source: Google Oct 25 2018

"All the girls are so personal and sweet! Such a warm and comfortable environment. Dr. H treats us like there is no one else he is seeing that day- always ready to answer questions with such informative explanations. He is obviously passionate about his overall dentistry and it shows. Being a Dental Hygienist gives me the advantage of being able to see his scope of talent is tip top :)"

5.0 Review from N.F. Source: Google Oct 25 2018

"I feel so fortunate to have found Dr. Hockel 15 years ago. He was actually referred by a doctor in Los Angeles for my daughter's orthodontic issues. He is passionate about what he does and he is continually involved in academics learning the latest procedures and innovations. We have never had a problem with any treatment we have received, which includes just about everything. He and his staff have always treated us with respect and are always friendly. I have seen many dentists in my life, and I know a good one versus a not so good one. Dr. Hockel's work ranks at the very top, and far above any dentist I have known. I drive 38 miles for an appointment at his office even though there are plenty of dentists in my city. Yes, he is that good."

5.0 Review from K.S. Source: Yelp Aug 27 2018

"Dr. Hockel saved my smile! He is amazing and the staff are soo nice! I’m eternally grateful for Dr. Hockel’s work and his staff! I chipped my front tooth when I younger and got a composite filling which lasted over 10 years my new dentist (not Dr. Hockel) said they could improve it and make it better I said ok sure. Less than a year later the new filling had discolored and fell off on a Sunday the terror I contacted Dr. Hockel’s office and they were able to fix my tooth this morning. I’m soo happy with my new smile and will be a new patient for life! Thank you so much Dr. Hockel and staff for saving my smile! I would recommend anyone looking for a dentist to go see him and his amazing staff they are a godsend!"

5.0 Review from N.B. Source: Yelp Jul 18 2018

"Office has this homy feeling to it, it doesn’t feel like you’re going to see a dentist. It feels like you’re going to a good family’s friends house for some iced tea and afternoon snack. Staff was wonderful, they’ve checked in with me a day before to make sure I was getting everything I needed done for my app.Dr. Hockle, the star of the show! He was recommended to me by my boyfriend who has known their family for almost 10 years now. Dr. Hockle not only took the time to explain everything about my treatment but also put my mind at ease with an action plan. I’ve never been to a dentist this knowledgeable and attentive. Price is a bit higher than I’m used to paying but you pay for quality so I rather save for a couple of months and know that my teeth will be well taken care of. I recommend him 100%"

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Yelp Jul 09 2018

"Best dentistry I have ever been to (after my dad’s)! The dynamic of the practice is genuine, attentive and professional. I have been coming here for 3 years + and have never had a bad experience. Dr. Hockel is an artist at his craft and takes his time to make sure that his patients feel good once arriving and after leaving his practice. The front desk administrators are  amazing, responsive and always polite.  The hygienists and the dental assistants are extremely knowledgable, talented and dedicated as well. Take the trip if needed, this place is worth the drive."

5.0 Review from B.H. Source: Facebook Apr 15 2018

"Brian's technical excellence, knowledge, and integrity make me proud to call him my close friend and colleague."

5.0 Review from T.J. Source: Yelp Apr 03 2018

"I pass at least 12 dentist offices on the way to Dr Brian Hockel’s and I don’t mind paying the little more for excellent care over a cheaper dentist that hasn’t developed his skills and attention to detail. You as a patient are also expected to care better for your teeth with flossing, brushing, water pic and oral rinse in order to keep gum health. While most offices don’t track or inform patients of bleeding points at cleanings, at Dr Hockel’s it’s like your report card. Going from a first visit at 65 bleeding points to 1 and most 3 or under shows that the health of my teeth and gums is better than any other time in my life at 68 years."

5.0 Review from E.A. Source: Yelp Jan 25 2018

"This office is absolutely top-notch. I visited them for the first time this week; they were punctual, professional, courteous, kind, and great to interact with (and had a welcome gift to boot - above and beyond for sure!). Aside from a routine check up, their hygienist (I believe her name is Kelsey) gave me the most thorough cleaning I have ever had (I am extremely particular about dental hygiene so this was greatly appreciated!). A+ office. Thanks guys, I will definitely be back!"

5.0 Review from J.D. Source: Google Oct 25 2017

"Dr. Hockel and the staffs here are phenomenal! They are very caring and professional."

5.0 Review from S.C. Source: Google Oct 25 2017

"Dr. Hockel and his fabulous team have been taking care of me as long as I can remember! They have always been thorough, patient, and expert. Don't hesitate to make your first appointment!"

5.0 Review from T.P. Source: Google Oct 25 2017

"I've been Doctors Hockel's patient for the last 30 years. I've never had a bad experience. I have complete confidence in Doctor Hockel and his amazing staff!!"

5.0 Review from T.B. Source: Google Oct 25 2017

"Great as always! Every question answered and am looking forward to next visit!"

5.0 Review from R.B. Source: Google Oct 25 2017

"Dr. Hockel and his staff truly care and have your best interests in mind. Dr. Hockel has the knowledge it takes to properly treat the airway as an orthodontist. If it wasn't for Dr. Hockel I'd still be sick suffering from my airway disorder. It took me many years to find him and learn what I was suffering from. I'm more than half way through his treatment and already feel life changing results. I finally feel healthy again and I'm waking with more energy than I've ever experienced. I live out of the area having to travel many hours to see him and it's way worth it."

5.0 Review from D.F. Source: Yelp Sep 15 2017

"This is a top-tier dental practice and I speak as someone whose family has gone to Dr. Hockel for over 20 years. Charmingly housed in the historic Casey House next to the library on Oak Grove Rd near Ygnacio, Dr. Brian (as his patients refer to him) has a practice that is well run and in the forefront of dental techniques. He himself often teaches workshops to other dentists of techniques they employ in their practice. Dr. Brian has an amiable, friendly manner with all of his patients, and takes time to explain problems he sees and what the options are. In addition to dentistry, orthodontia work is done here as well; both of my sons came here for that and have beautiful straight teeth as a result.The dental hygienists, assistants and front desk are all well-trained, friendly and professional. An excellent choice for your dental needs if you are looking for a dentist."

5.0 Review from K.F. Source: Yelp Apr 24 2017

"Hands down this is the best dental work I have ever received. My family and I all go here and I am so thankful to be in great hands. Dr Hockel and his team definitely know what they are doing and I am confident they are doing what is best for me and my teeth."

4.0 Review from C.T. Source: Yelp Mar 13 2017

"The office was very nice with complimentary drinks.  Also the staff were very friendly and had lots of stuff for kids.  You can email Dr. Hockel at any time and he’ll answer back.  He was very knowledgeable and thorough with answering all our questions."

5.0 Review from A.S. Source: Yelp Feb 20 2017

"Dr. Hockel is amazing. He has treated both my daughter and myself and I would highly recommend him! Great, competent and friendly staff make everything easy!"

5.0 Review from T.B. Source: Yelp Dec 27 2016

"Very Welcoming and friendly staff, Dr. Brian Hockel’s knowledge on Dental Aesthetics and how to address Obstructive Sleep Apnea is very logical and sound."

5.0 Review from S.P. Source: Yelp Dec 22 2016

"Long story short Ive had more dental work than most in many different states. Dr. Hockel is the best. I wont be going anywhere else ever."

5.0 Review from Anonymous Source: Healthgrades Dec 22 2016

"The most compassionate person! The most knowledgeable doctor! We love Dr. Hockel and feel so lucky that we found him. He is simply the most loving and kind dentist that we know. My daughter has been his patient for the last 6 years. She always look forward to her visits. He is taking the most amazing care of her. Every one in the office are very professional and caring. We need more doctors like him!"

5.0 Review from B.B. Source: Yelp Dec 15 2016

"After my insured dentists turned me away and literally told me, good luck, I went all the way back my childhood dentist looking for help, she referred me to Doctor Hockel. I had a lot of jaw pain, needed braces, as my teeth had spaced enough that I couldnt bite into food, and after my consolation with Dr. Hockel, was referred to getting a sleep study done to learn that I also had mild sleep apnea. Dr. Hockel and his team are super kind and attentive and are set on making sure I get the help I need. If I didn’t start going to them I never would have learned why I was exhausted my entire life. My jaw pain is almost gone and now that I get proper sleep, I can actually function in every day life, and am almost back to a beautiful smile again. With all dental work, it can be pricey, but I’m so thankful to have found them because they’ve literally helped my change my life for the better. I can finally breathe properly, eat, and sleep like a normal person."

5.0 Review from K.S. Source: Facebook Dec 05 2016

"Dr. Hockel and his entire office are all great. I have never had a better dental or orthodontic experience. Dr. Hockel has specialized knowledge about the airway and a holistic view on treating the whole person that has made me very confident about my treatment plan. Even my kids (unexpectedly) like going to the dentist!"

4.0 Review from A.R. Source: Yelp Nov 20 2016

"I brought my son to Dr. Hockel because he treats sleep apnea which my son has.  My son also has Down syndrome,  Dr. Hockel and his staff are not intimidated by his diagnosis at all.  They treat him with kindness and respect which means so much to us.  The office is warm, cozy and clean. We live in San Ramon so driving out there isn’t super convenient however the treatment that my son is getting makes it worth it.  Dr. Hockel, is accessible by personal phone or email to us at any time which goes beyond the call of duty.  We also take our younger daughter to Dr. Hockel.  She loves going to her check ups.  We will begin her orthodontic treatment in the coming year.  The only issue that we have is how they bill.  We have to pay up front for our appointments and then we get reimbursed by our insurance.  Other than that, we are very happy with our choice of taking our kids to Dr. Hockel and team."

5.0 Review from K.A. Source: Facebook Oct 05 2016

"Wouldn't have the smile I have without Dr. Hockel. Super clean and relaxing atmosphere with the coolest and friendliest staff."

5.0 Review from J.D. Source: Yelp Feb 05 2016

"This has to be the nicest office I’ve ever stepped foot in.  Everything is brand new and the customer service is top notch.  Dr Hockel was extremely knowledgable about everything, especially orthodontic treatment which has been something I’ve been putting off for awhile.  Tam and Cynthia at the front were super helpful, and the new patient gift was a nice touch as well.  I would highly recommend Dr Hockel to anyone."

5.0 Review from R.T. Source: Yelp Jul 20 2015

"Dr. Hockel and his entire office are knowledgeable, pleasant, and thorough."

5.0 Review from G.P. Source: Yelp May 11 2015

"I was referred to Dr Hockle and drive 2 hrs just to see him. I have been very impressed with his knowledge, staff, and office. I will be using his services for years to come. Thanks Dr Hockle"

5.0 Review from M.A. Source: Facebook Apr 11 2015

"This is the best dentist I have ever been to. You get the sense that he really cares for his patients. The staff are amazing as well. I have moved 80 miles away and still go to Brian for my dental work."

5.0 Review from C.C. Source: Yelp Mar 25 2015

"Been coming here since I can remember, literally.  I don’t want to go anywhere else because I know how great of a job they do here.  Really know how to pick the best of the best!  They build relationships, make you feel comfortable and always have beautiful smiling faces when you enter.  They fixed my moms smile and her teeth are now straighter and more perfect than they have ever been!  Love coming here while most people state how much they hate the dentist.  Well it’s because they aren’t like family probably"

5.0 Review from M.T. Source: Facebook Feb 05 2015

"One of the most pleasant visits to any Dentist or Dr.....that I have ever experienced. My first visit was today....no cavities....Some normal gum and enamel stuff with a guy my age...so I can deal with it...So I can in good standing...recommend this office for anyone out there that fears going to the dentist..or is searching for a new dentist."

5.0 Review from K.P. Source: Facebook Jul 28 2014

"Professional, courteous and conservative dentistry."

5.0 Review from M.P. Source: Yelp Dec 27 2013

"Dr. Hockel is simply fantastic - a perfectionist who takes a holistic approach, checking to see how his work will affect airflow (particularly if you have sleep apnea, which I do, so quite a plus for me to find a dentist/orthodontist who knows how to handle it), bite, and facial proportionality.I’ve been going to see Dr. Hockel and his team to address an underbite, 5 missing adult teeth, and overall crooked teeth. Collectively, they have straightened out my teeth, added new (temporary) ones, and have really done wonders for my smile. I completely agree with the reviewer who said Dr. Hockel deserves 10 stars!"

5.0 Review from G.G. Source: Yelp Dec 17 2013

"I have been visiting the practice of Dr. Brian Hockel for the past 10 years and I am completely satisfied with my visits and the services rendered.  In particular, the quality of care provided by the staff is above reproach and in particular the Dental Hygienists (thanks Nicole!) who have consistently provided quality care.  The attention to detail is obvious and the results evident.  An added bonus is the on site, full service Dental lab and fabrication facility operated by Steve Hockel, who works closely with Brian to ensure quality crowns, bridges, etc.I highly recommend Team Hockel!"

5.0 Review from Anonymous Source: Vitals Oct 29 2012

"I have had quite extensive dental work done and Dr. Hockel's work has always been flawless. He is a perfectionist when it comes to doing great work for his patients. His staff is always friendly and extremely well-trained. He is compassionate, understanding, and sees to it that patients are well educated and comfortable in his care. He is one of the few healthcare professionals that I trust completely."

5.0 Review from A.G. Source: Yelp Feb 03 2011

"Dr. Hockel is AMAZING. He is one of the kindest dentist there is. I broke a tooth and he got me in ASAP. I am so pleased with his work...it is PHENOMENAL!!!!!! The tooth he worked on looks so good that the one next to it is irritating me now.Hahaha. He does not do work that is not needed. He actually said I could wait on some work because it was not an issue at the moment. He really puts his all in every patient. The entire staff is fabulous!!!! The assistants are perfect and so sweet. I will recommend Dr. Hockel to everyone!!!!!!!"

5.0 Review from K.S. Source: Yelp Feb 03 2011

"Dr. Hockel deserves 10 stars!Last Friday my elderly mother fell and knocked out two teeth.  In the ER in Walnut Creek, I was informed that she needed to get to a dentist that day, to try to replant the teeth.  My mother’s dentist is in SF, and mine is in Berkeley, neither of which was going to work, transport-wise.  A friend of Mom’s recommended Dr. Hockel.Dr. Hockel’s office wasn’t technically open on Friday, but he was there doing paperwork and  answered the phone.  At 3:30 on a Friday afternoon, never having seen my mother, he agreed to wait in his office until we could get there.  We arrived after 4:30pm.  He worked on mom for two hours, successfully getting the teeth replanted.  He was extremely kind, calm and reassuring.  He even offered me something to drink and thanked me for my patience!   Because Dr. H. took the time to help my mom, he was late to a family engagement.  Dr. H. referred my mom to an endodontist, and followed up on Monday morning to be sure she could get an appointment.I have never seen such extraordinary professional service and compassion before!  Dr. H.is just flat-out amazing."
*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.